Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Spiced Plum and Apple Pudding Anyone?

The food in the hospital is amazing!!! All freshly cooked and delicious which is such a surprise. Mum really looks forward to the meals!
I was working this afternoon but I thought I’d head over to see mum for a bit first. The traffic’s rubbish before 9am but at least I got parked quickly so I had a few hours there.
She seemed better in herself which is fab. She got up onto a frame with the physios and took a few steps which was brilliant - she got quite emotional saying it had felt like she’d never be able to get out of bed again.
I went down to get a cup of tea when the physios arrived so we didn’t have a repeat of the other day which I realise I forgot to mention.
When I visited on Saturday the consultant came to examine mum. There was another doctor with her with a huge mobile computer trolley thing. They pulled the curtain and there we all were, in masks, in the tiny, crowded, boiling hot cubicle. The consultant was nice enough but a bit brusque and a bit manhandly with mum who was in a lot of pain.
Anyway, as I stood there I suddenly felt a bit sick and lightheaded so I pulled my mask off a bit. That didn’t help. I took it off and bent down so I had my hands on my knees. I kept thinking it would pass but it just got worse. I felt like I was going to throw up and pass out on the floor. I knew I’d have to sit before I fell, so I said - ridiculously politely - that I just needed to sit down for a minute as I slumped to the floor. Oh dear!
I’m fine, I said, just carry on!!!
The consultant told me to put my head between my knees and the other doctor got me water.
Honestly I’ll be fine, just carry on!!!
It was about fifty million degrees and I was drenched in sweat all of a sudden so I took my jumper off.
“Get you head between your knees!!!!!” the consultant ordered!
It passed almost as suddenly as it had arrived and I was fine. Just embarrassed!
When Dom was first in hospital after his stroke I ended up downstairs in A&E with heart palpitations. Obviously I like to make it all about me!!!!!
So anyway, when the physios arrived today I stepped out!
When I got back with the tea mum was up in the frame which was fabulous to see.
Then it was time to go to get back in time for work.
No mean customers, whoop whoop!!
I had a message from mum to say she’d had a bit of a turn this afternoon in Plastics where she’d been taken so they could look at her face.
Dizzy, lightheaded, no pulse, fluttering heart, ECGs, oxygen, emergency department. All very exciting for the plastics department who probably aren’t used to emergencies!
Mum’s doctor played it down saying it was the morphine and all the activity after being in bed for days. He’s not worried.
Shame though after the positivity of earlier.
She had a delicious fish pie for dinner which cheered her up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.