Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Finding ourselves

I’m glad I didn’t leave my blip till after dinner last night - we didn’t stagger back through the moonlit gardens till after 11pm, having entered a fascinating and fairly ribald conversation with the couple at the next table just as we finished our coffee. Dinner, I must say, was excellent - expensive and excellent, with recommended wines for each of our savoury courses, all taken under a massive painting of Mary Queen of Scots staring in an anguished pose at a barred window. Don’t ask …

Today I indulged myself after breakfast by reading and falling asleep on the sun lounger on our patio, and didn’t stir till the sun moved round to the side. Then we went out - down, down, down to the sea front, along the promenade to the centre of town, then inland to explore, ending up outside a cafe , eating honey cake and drinking coffee instead of having a sensible lunch. We had a fascinating chat with the owner about Brexit, our respective economic situations, and how we heat our house - Madeira is apparently having a cold winter.

Thus fortified, we found our way up the winding streets towards home, including a visit to Holy Trinity Church (“The English Church “). It’s a steep climb - we feel we shed the cake en route. Right now I’ve showered in readiness for going out to meet friends for dinner - a small gin beckons, I think , before we leave…

(Dinner just great: scabbard fish with banana, two bottles of wine…)

Blipping the coffe & cake lunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.