Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Dreich Dunoon

Quite a busy day, but an unremarkable one. The sky failed to lighten in the slightest, rain came and went away again, the wind blew on the front but I was unaware of it anywhere else. I shopped as usual - there were no chickens that could go in the fridge till I needed them, as all had "use by" dates for tomorrow, and I have little room in my freezer which we're thinking of defrosting just as soon as we can scrape together that sense of purpose that occasionally turns us into superheroes.

So what else? The birds are fairly demolishing the contents of the newly-replenished bird feeder. I went to the Co-op after coffee, for the sole purpose of an assignation with James the Pectin - he was there, made light of what I still conisider a fairly miraculous deed, and left me with pectin and a chat about allergies. 

In the afternoon I walked down to the dental surgery, measuring my distances and  trying to keep my speed up (I'm feeling very fat). I had to sign a document to reassure them I wasn't on any deadly drugs and that I was healthy, I was well prodded and had my jaws x-rayed and was told that there was nothing visible ... and that was that. (Note how casually I said I had my jaws x-rayed: I can't stand putting that wee plate into my mouth; it never fits; I want to gag... anything but casual.) I walked home briskly again, and collapsed at my computer to read the Scotsman online.  

And that was it. I find myself now falling asleep at the computer and typing nonsense - not gobbledegook, just random but perfectly correct sentences. I shall desist.

The collage shows three photos I took on my wanderings round the town: the first one shows the road that runs through to the Innellan road, with the mock Tudor house in the distance at the end of our crescent; the one below it the wee ferry crossing the bay as it nears the pier; the right-hand one gives the sense of the depth of the town before it gives on to the hills, one of the older streets with the typically random houses built before any attempt at standardisation. I think it all looks uniformly miserable, myself!

Oh - the marmalade oranges arrived!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.