Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Changeable

More seascapes in the photo frames today - there wasn't much else worth photographing in my day, though I sometimes feel I ought to snap the inside of the Co-op at the end of a dreich afternoon, just for the social history of it ...

This morning was as the extra photo shows - a wild wind blowing the sea into lines of foam, against which the two Western Ferries battled valiantly, taking the westward trip on a dog-leg down the Firth to avoid the full force of the sea to port. The afternoon, rather too late to be very useful, cleared after a period of heavy rain and became really rather calm, as you can see in the 5pm shot looking down the Firth past the pier. That was the only outing we had all day - the combination of rain and a morning and early afternoon spent largely on the phone and feeling stressed kept me in till four. 

The excuse for the late walk round was my ongoing search for pectin - I think I mentioned the obliging staff member at the Co-op who offered to look on the Other Side for me last week. He had had to take the van out this afternoon, so wasn't there by the time I asked, but actually phoned me while I was making dinner to tell me he'd got me a bottle and when would I like to get it? I'm truly in awe of his helpfulness - I have a date for tomorrow. 

That over, I popped in to the dental surgery to see if anyone could look at a molar for me - I've been getting sudden stounds of pain yesterday and today. I suspect it may be a return of the trigeminal neuralgia, but I need to be sure it's not a tooth doing something dire. As our practice is now private, I'm using one of my two allowed emergency appointments ...

After Compline, I watched the last episode of Mr Bates versus the Post Office. Unbelievable - and what a fight he put up! It's incredible that the ramifications are still being played out. I also watched the news, with the clips of Nicola Sturgeon's appearance at the Covid Enquiry today. I don't know how I react to the commentary - I can't help remembering how frightened we all were, and how ready we were to follow anyone that seemed to be offering sane judgment on how to proceed. 

But the ache in my jaw seems to be a good stress barometer, and I don't want it to return at bedtime. I'm off ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.