Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Keeping going

Remember, o faithful reader, that I felt I had eaten unwisely last night? (Gosh, I enjoyed it!) I went to bed triumphant, feeling so much better since not suffering any more from hPylori - driven inner troubles, and an hour after I'd put aside my book and composed myself for sleep ... I was still wide awake. I simply felt I could go for another walk. Too much protein, I guess. 

It didn't 't make getting up this morning any easier, though a stunning red sunrise did. I did two loads of washing and hung them out - it'll be the last time I can do that for a bit if I don't want it to end up in Scandinavia - and decided another walk was in order, choir practice or no. So after coffee we went south, parked at Toward School, and walked along the shore road. Himself was suffering from a thorough eye examination at which the optician had put drops in so that he couldn't see and found the sun blinding - he was reduced to wearing a hideous pair of yellow-framed Arnold Clark-advertising sunglasses, as he's mislaid his cool ones - so he decided to take it at a comfortable pace. I, on the other hand, because yesterday's exertions seemed to have left no unpleasant effects at all, bashed off and went right out the Ardyne shore and back, all at, according to my watch, an average pace of a mile every 21 minutes. I got far too hot, though it wasn't above 5ºC, and had to carry my jacket. 

That's where the photo came from. I was looking downriver at the brightness beyond Cumbrae and hoping the fat cloud above us would pass without raining (it did - the sun came to us too) when I saw the Cal Mac ferry from Rothesay heading over to Wemyss Bay and decided to test the clarity of image I'd get with the new phone. I'm happy ...

And I'm happy again, when I didn't expect to be, because we're just in from a choir practice that, because of illness as well as two scheduled absences,  had only three singers, all altos, along with Himself. And we've just had such a useful rehearsal, working on ranges and production and then singing some of our repertoire with only three parts, or two and the piano - and enjoying singing together and making good sounds. Now I'm going to catch up on tonight's episode of Silent Witness and eat toast and marmalade (of course.)

And did you hear about last night's earthquake on Mull?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.