A Suffolk Eye

By CroPage

Great moustache

Adam and Eve in the garden
Studying the beauties of nature
The devil jumped out
Of a brussels sprout
And hit Eve in the eye with a 'tater


This verse represented the height of witticism at school when I was eight or so. We all had autograph books and this was one of the hardy perennials that was penned over and over again on the little pastel pages. (This, or another ruder one about potatoes which I will not bother to repeat.)

I'd forgotten the poem for nearly half a century, until it came rushing back to me when I saw this lovely polychrome platter in the Fitzwilliam museum today. What I specially like is that - despite their nakedness - Adam has a very beautifully barbered moustache.

And its the serpent who clearly wants to eat the apple..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.