Almondblossom

By Almondblossom

Finding treasures

The house move packing is stepping up and we’re getting to some of my mum’s stuff that’s been stashed away for years. Today she gave me a little storybook that I remember so well from my childhood. I didn’t know that the author was my great uncle, who I never met. He sounds like a fantastically interesting man who lived with his male partner, Tav; apparently my mum’s family were completely accepting of him as a gay man. I bet he spoke Polari. My mum (with her dad) even met some their friends in the 1940s. Edgar worked for the British Council teaching English as a foreign language in Syracuse in the 1930s and possibly the late 40s/early ‘50s. It seems that this was the only book he wrote, but I’m keen to find out more about him when I get home. The illustrator may have been Tav, as my mum never knew his real name.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.