Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Street Photography: Mono Week

I knew that street photography had to be part of my Mono Week! So that means it's a double challenge. Street photography is about being quick on the mark, discreet and spotting the right moment (which goes by in a flash)!  I was a bit twitchy and nervous and then had to try and remember composition too. I will have to practice my street photography more for it to improve. Anyway, I'm putting my favourite photos of my time downtown this morning.

the main shot speaks for itself, the young couple and, by the girl's expression, she's pretty taken with her companion!

I used my 23mm lens so couldn't zoom, but it's much lighter and more discreet for street photography.

Extras:
- Playing the waiting game in front of one of my favourite cafés. Her beret was a lovely shade of sunny yellow!
- Covered wooden steps leading up to the level of the Cathedral (notice the two women chatting near the bottom.
- Getting closer to the two women in front of the grocer's shop.

Lausanne is built on steep hills and most of the streets are either going up to higher parts of the town or down steps or pavingstone streets to lower parts.  All up one side of the wooden steps are lovely little boutiques and shops. Right at the top is a café where I used to go with my grandson when he was small.

Lausanne is a city full of character and full of interesting nooks and crannies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.