Knife Angel

We travelled up to Gloucester to see the newly installed Knife angel, currently at the Cathedral until the end of the month. It's quite a thing - twenty seven feet tall - created by artist Alfie Bradley and consisting of approximately one hundred thousand knives and blades handed in under amnesties across Britain.

Hard to offer just the one shot, but I did like this image which focused on his face rather than the blades themselves. It seems to speak of his own personal brutalisation. You can see other shots here.

I guess I've carried a blade with me for as long as I can remember - certainly long before I left school. Whether it's whittling a bit of wood, sharpening a pencil or cutting a cord, I'd feel a little lost without it. The idea that we have failed to properly teach our kids about knives saddens me hugely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.