Grey Heron

A bit of an annoying morning. There were a lot of dogs around but the aggressive female heron found a safe spot to land. She was joined by the male. I was halfway through feeding them when a small dog came bounding up the hill and chased them off. I knew that they would head for the path at the spot the regular male hangs out so I headed there. As soon as I reached the path I could see them up ahead where I thought they would be. I made my way round and the regular male and the passive female were there too. I started feeding them when the same dog came charging along the path and chased them again. The woman caught up and said that she thought they had gone back to the water or she would have put her dog back on the lead. It was plainly from a distance obvious I was feeding something. As she was talking the passive female landed a bit away and her dog was off again.  Eventually she moved on with her dog! The passive one and the new male returned and landed beside me and the regular male (who knew he was safe behind the fence and hadn't moved). I fed the three of them and headed home. Today's shot is the passive female (L) and the new male (R). There was no aggression they both flipped crests and made their grunt like call and happily shared the fish (complex behaviour or what).
The extras are the regular male who always looks so clean , the aggressive female and the two taking off to the path after the first encounter with the dog! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.