SilverImages

By SilverImages

St.Mary's, Foy

“Sometimes I arrive just when God's ready to have someone click the shutter.”
Ansel Adams
Another glorious sunny (frozen) morning, just the sort of day to get away from the mayhem that is the house rewire and head off for a walk in the sunshine with Bob (of BobsBlips, who helped me out with aerial photos back in July last year), once the car has defrosted.
A quick catch-up over a coffee, with plenty of inspiration from his photos, then down to the business for the day, a walk across the footbridge over the Wye to St Mary’s Church at Foy. Although not far from where I live this is unknown territory for me, so plenty to enjoy.
The church is set on a rock shelf above the river floodplain, which seems to be regularly inundated and the remains of the recent floods were still there in the ice covered pools. The light inside the church through the stained glass windows was stunning, and I was tempted to post a colour shot but as Bob has already done it justice I’ll stick to my favourite B/W.
Ever a creature of habit I wanted my coffee and sandwich so Bob took me in to Ross for the most mouth-watering Coronation Chicken sandwich I’ve had in a long time. Perfect end to a perfect day for me.
Back home all had not gone to plan, the electrician had accidentally cut through the thermostat cable so the boiler could only be operated by hand from the control panel, no lighting anywhere yet and power only in the kitchen. Oh well, I’ve had a great day out in good company so no big deal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.