Breaking the Surface

You lot are totally fabulous. Your commentary on Nancy was so lovely. But I don't think I really deserved so much praise for my chivalry. I'm telling you that I had no choice. It wasn't a kind gesture so much as obeying an order. I couldn't not help Nancy off the train and after that there was no going back. I'm not sure I'll be returning to take her out to tea either. She did not smile once. She didn't even thank me when I took her to her door! Not even the slightest nod of gratitude. Many people would describe as her a miserable old bat but I do have a sneaky respect for her formidable character. I hesitate to say it but I can't help harbour a suspicion that she'd been on a shoplifting rather than a shopping expedition. I wouldn't have wanted to apprehend her!

Today has not been easy. It started badly when, forgetting my helmet this morning and walking back down the cellar steps in my cleats, I slipped and fell down the stairs, smacking first my back and then my head. The impact was so hard I first thought I had done some serious damage but I got away with it. I'm actually quite impressed with how robust I seem to be. The day didn't get much better after that, with an extremely high sigh quotient at my desk. But I did finally enjoy a breakthrough at the end of the afternoon and then a pleasant cycle home in evening sunshine.

I popped over a new fence en route home to take this. I wasn't aware of the ripple at the time but it serves as a rather good metaphor for the day. Off to eat some food now and hope to return a little later for a bit of banter. No promises though. Last time I said that I crashed and burned. Long days at the office, trying to keep the exercise going, blipping, cooking and chilling a bit with the boys. The days are really crunched in terms of time at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.