Reminiscing

One Street: Market Square, Shipley #34

It's been another long hard ten hour plus day at the office, the whole team working their socks off at the moment to meet a number of deadlines. I can't believe it's Friday already. Each successive week seems to disappear more quickly than the last. I did at least enjoy a brisk cycle to and from the office, but the highlight of my day was meeting these three lovely young ladies - young in spirit that is!

We have Alice (87) on the left, Winnie (89) in the middle, and Vera (87) on the right. Alice and Winnie have known each for over 70 years, first meeting as young girls working at Salt's Mill in Saltaire, just a half mile away. Winnie and Vera are sisters and I found out, rather sadly, that Vera had buried her husband just yesterday. He had been unwell and in a nursing home for five years and she had never missed a day's visiting. I was a bit short of time today but I really want to find these wonderful old girls again and hear some stories. They were all so completely engaged with each other and looking really well too, and full of laughter. I'm after taking some portraits of them and although they weren't too keen on the idea I think I'll be able to work on them! I love a challenge.

And before you ask, they were definitely giving me the eye after I took this shot. I must be putting out some weird energy at the moment. I guess I know that at least I have a future as a toyboy!!

Thanks for your further kindnesses yesterday. I did feel a bit stiff on waking up this morning but no real aches or pains. I think I can safely say that I managed to get away with that one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.