Executive Decision-Making

How are big decisions made? What does it feel like to be a political leader or a general or a chief executive, with ultimate responsibility, with the command to make a huge difference to the lives of hundreds of people, perhaps thousands or even millions? If, like me, you sway with every single argument for and against, see a dilemma in every imaginable shade of grey, then it would be impossible to sit in a seat of power. Those people who gain such positions do so because of their ability to see in black and white, to be able to focus on the ultimate objective and not be swayed by emotion. But are they really the right people to have in power?

I do wonder if some of the huge decisions in history have been made by the toss of a coin. How different might be the world we live in if certain very important coins in the past had landed up heads instead of tails? I sometimes resort to a coin to make decisions when logic is failing me. There is a twist though, and perhaps other people have discovered the same technique?

I convince my rational left brain that I'm going to religiously follow the result of the coin toss. I focus my mind, toss the coin and call. In the moment that it lands I tune into my intuition and try to listen to my right brain, registering the emotion, the gut response at the random outcome. It's that feeling that I go with. It's a way of tapping into your core instincts. This kind of executive decision-making is perhaps not quite as arbitrary as it might at first seem.

A little sad that I've had to be in the office today, and for the second time in a week blipping from its confines, but more slow progress has been made and it's been a thoroughly miserable day anyway. Both boys were due to be playing for the second team today but that was called off early because of the rain. Tomorrow they are both due to play in the cup for the first team. The weather is looking a bit more promising for that. Should be fun to watch them playing together. It certainly makes logistics a bit easier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.