Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

This mornings sunrise. So wonderful when the light is returning earlier and earlier. :)

My second book in the Love Blippin' Books is 'The Book of Lost Things' by John Connolly. This book is precious to me, not only because I got it for Christmas by my uncle. This, if I remember it correctly, was the Christmas after my aunts death. He told me he'd seen it in a bookshop at the airport (or the train station, my memory is a bit fussy) and thought of me. He's now in his own world and rarely recognises his two children and their families (heartbreaking...) and I think that's another reason for this book being so special to me.
So, what about the book then? Well, it's a story of a little boy and his adventure... 'Everything you can imagine is real'
Davids mother has recently died and he mourns her. His father has met a new woman and they now got a little son. David is angry at the whole situation and in his attic bedroom his only company are the books on the shelves. 
The books starts to whisper to him and the real world melds with the fairy tales his mother loves so much. 
The war rages in the outside world and when it crashes into the garden, David is transported to another world filled with twisted fairy tales built by his and others fears. He meets The Crooked Man, who wants him to be king, if he only does this one little thing for The Crooked Man... 
This book doesn't end with the end of Davids story. The second part recounts the fairy tales this book has inspiration from. Old fairy tales and different versions of them. 
I really love this book. I've been coming back to it and read it over and over and over again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.