A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Yikes!!

“It isn’t a fit night out for man nor beast” - Yukon Cornelius • Truer words have never been spoken • It was 6F degrees when I got up this morning. At 3pm I checked before going outside. It was -4F. With the wind it feels like -27F, and I can confirm that!! Imagine, the cold front hasn’t even gone through yet! Overnight windchills are expected to reach -40F • Of course I worry for the birds, and the deer; the squirrels, and every other creature trying to survive this horrific cold. I read that birds and deer are well equipped for the cold, and it’s a myth they can’t survive. I hope Birds & Blooms is correct because tonight will put that to the test • My blip shows the dear deer’s buffet table. It’s my own blend of grain pellets, corn, sunflower seeds, apples, carrots and potatoes. There won’t be a morsel left come morning • I saw an amazing thing today. I started the car and went for a short drive to warm it up. When I returned I sat in the car for a few minutes. There, on the roof were eight birds appearing to drink water from some melting snow. Hard to believe with the cold but the sun shined brightly today. Anyway, the thirsty birds were, are you ready, bluebirds!!! I kid you not. I’ve never seen one before :) • Stay warm and cozy, Friends!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.