Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Perspective

First of all, thanks for the love for Margie and for the revealing comments on my last blip. Many of us are either close to people with dementia or worried that it lies waiting for us in the future. We have strong feelings about it. 

Today I finished my sequence of physical therapy sessions. They were aimed at maintaining mobility in ankle, knee, and back despite childhood rheumatic fever, arthritis, and a lifetime of hard use. I have a tool kit of exercises now, and I will work them into my daily routine and keep doing them. They do help.

Working with Scott, the therapist, has been a pleasure. He's always telling me I'm doing well, I'm making progress, I'm more flexible or stronger than I think I am: the kind of positive reinforcement I always gave my students. He knows reinforcement only works if it's TRUE because people know themselves and know if you're just blowing hot air. You search for people's strengths, you help them to see what they've done right, encourage them to keep going, find ways to make the work "easy" for them.  

"See," he'll point out, "you're listening to your body, and your body knows what it needs. Your body knows which movements will relieve tension or ease discomfort. Just keep listening."

I'm grateful I've had these sessions. I wish everybody could have them, and have Scott cheer them up about themselves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.