Grey Heron

The Aggressive male heron flew down from the dovecote to meet me this morning. He found a safe spot and waited for me.  Unfortunately at the bottom of the hill there was a guy taking his young lab a walk off the lead. He stopped to shout something and the lab bounded up the hill and the heron was off. He mumbled a quick apology and made his way in the direction I was going to go. I held back a bit and fed some crows. I then made my way around. I couldn't believe it, the the idiot was waiting and pointing to the Aggressive male heron, who was waiting for me at the edge of the loch. I gave it a couple of bits of fish just before the lab bounded over again, and once again the heron was off. The guy started to say something but I just turned round and walked back the way I had come as he went on his merry way in the opposite direction. I hadn't gone far when I heard the aggressive male call as it landed in the water a few yards from me. I gave him some fish and went to see if the regular male was there. He was waiting patiently as always. I was feeding him when I saw the aggressive male land on the grass to my left. I turned to give him some more fish when right behind me was the passive female. I managed to feed the three of them with no aggressive behaviour. I noticed that the passive female's beak is starting to lose the protective coating around the base.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.