Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Long Day

Another month, another day at the hospital!
I realise this shouldn’t be my attitude but I LOVED the fact the teachers were on strike today!!
Normally I get up in time to make Miss L’s lunch and Miss E’s coffee and hug and kiss them goodbye.
Last night I gleefully turned my alarm off, hugged and kissed them and said they wouldn’t be seeing me in the morning because I’d still be in bed, and to make sure they got up in time to log on for online learning. Whoop whoop!!!!
There’s another strike due on my birthday…..
I went back over to the JR this morning. I’ve nearly finished Strike so I’m going to have to find something else to listen to on the journey.
Mum was in a bit of a state after a bad night. Plastics came up at 7.30 last night and put stitches in the laceration to her lip. Painful doesn’t even begin to describe it apparently. Awful.
The “Exposed” sign that was above the entrance to her bay has changed to “Red” as the woman in the next bed has got Covid. I’m sure the flimsy curtain between them will be more than adequate protection for my mum. Rolls eyes!
The woman is asymptomatic thankfully given her other sad health issues. There are always people worse off.
And no such thing as privacy in hospital!!
When I went down to get a cup of tea in the afternoon I bumped into Mr N as I came out of the lift going back up. What are the odds?! He’d come to visit mum which meant the world to her but due to the “Red” plague sign above the ward he couldn’t go in as he had Mr A with him from Second Time Around and obviously can’t put him in harm’s way. Such a shame!
He did leave a rather delicious box of Thorntons though which we tucked into!!
I stayed until about 6.30pm so it was a long day. Another seventeen million pounds spent in M&S!!!
My dad messaged me earlier to say he wasn’t going to make it over today. He didn’t tell mum so I had to tell her that as well as the fact that Mr N hadn’t been able to come in. It’s always a joy to be the bearer of bad news!
The journey home was really quick and after my Mexican bean, rice and avocado salad pot I took myself off to bed.
If I’m feeling a bit sorry for myself I have to remind myself how much worse it is for mum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.