Dumbarton Rock and Castle

When I was little my Mum had a friend in Dumbarton and we used to go to Dumbarton every week. Despite these many visits I do believe today is the first time I have ever been to the Castle.

We went right to the top of the rock and had some stupendous views over the river and surrounding countryside. The photograph was taken near the base however. If I have read the sings correctly the tree which has given us so much blossom was planted by the Queen in 1953. It has had a while to grow, and I think I may have not noticed her visit at the time.

We were lucky today. This castle would not be a place to visit when it is raining. Not much shelter, no not correct, no shelter if it starts to rain, and quite a long way from the summit of the rock back down to the base. No need to hurry, plenty of time to get soaked. Today it was quite warm and very little wind. Ideal weather for a climb.

The representative of Historic Castle recommended we visit Newark Castle, being one of the few Historic Scotland properties where there is still a functioning roof. No time today, though we did have time for lunch at Balloch before returning to Renfrew.

I did have some more Castle like photographs with battlements, canons and a prison. This one seems to better portray the day as the weather was so nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.