atoll

By atoll

Under my Umbrella

I love the odd day trip down via train to London and today was a beautifully sunny but cold, crisp day. I tend to walk everywhere here (rather than use the Underground) if I can. This is because all of the sights, history and vibrant mix of culture on show are amazing when experienced above ground. But I generally don’t enjoy the impersonal scrum of the Tube.

I had to get to Covent Garden from Euston so transited a random zig-zag by foot heading in the rough direction needed. En route I passed James Smith & Sons’ ‘Umbrella Warehouse & Stick Factory’, established in 1830, with its exotic boasts of “Life Preservers, Dagger Canes & Swordsticks”. I have always fancied a blackthorn or bog oak wadding staff with a lanyard for fly fishing, but none on show today that I could see. Everything was pretty expensive with several hundreds of pounds for an umbrella.

As Rihanna said; “Took an oath, I'ma stick it out 'til the end”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.