atoll

By atoll

The Cannonball Express

A back-dated blip taken of this light-hearted cafe mural from Male’ City, Maldives in the guise of a steam train. Its ‘Take Away Counter’ is the cab hatch where steam train chef stands on his footplate stoking the fires whilst “a steamin’ and a rollin’ “ fast food.

Pity that the chef in shadow is not leaning out of their cabin to keep an eye on outside trade - as the scene reminded me of the old American railroad TV series of my childhood called ‘Casey Jones’. If old enough yourself, you would know it was all about the western adventures of a 19th century steam train engineer onboard his beloved ‘Canonball Express’. I can hear the TV theme tune stuck in my head like an ear-worm as I write.

Seems there is an actual folk ‘Ballad of Casey Jones’ and not to be confused with the Grateful Dead song of the same name.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.