Architecture

Our second very early start of the week.  We had to be away from the house by 6:30am to get BB to hospital for 7:30am.  We made good time again.  TT dropped us off and headed on to his work.  BB and I went to the allotted place at the allotted time and yet again he was taken very promptly.  A nurse came and took him away, and I was left to get on with my day.  My plan for the day had been foiled by circumstances, so although I had taken the day off work, I headed to the office.  It was a lovely morning and I enjoyed the walk and change of scenery.  I knew there wouldn’t be many people in the office today, so spent my time working in peace on a report that has been 60% done for about a fortnight, but I have never had time to focus on it.  Only one colleague from my team was in and he was sworn to secrecy that I was around.  I didn’t log into my email or to Teams, so no one knew I was there.  We had a really nice chat, and he kept apologising for distracting me – but as I reminded him, I wasn’t there, and really he was distracting himself!!  Late morning I got a call to say that BB’s procedure had gone well and he was out of theatre and they would call me again when they knew what was happening.  That call came early afternoon, and they said the surgeon was happy with him and that he could be picked up whenever I was ready.  That was good news as on Monday they were uncertain as to whether he would get home the same day.
 
I packed up and went in search of a bus to the Western.  I eventually found the right stop and was soon back at the hospital.  BB’s nurse came to get me and took me to the ward.  BB looked dreadful, but insisted that he was ok.  He was so very pale, he really didn’t look well!  I had a long chat with the nurse about a few things and she made up a package of stuff for BB to take home, including a sick bowl in case he felt sick on the journey home.  Thankfully it is still unused.  BB got himself ready for departure and we found some comfy seats and waited for TT coming to pick us up.  That gave just enough time to get BB a couple of snacks from shop to keep him going.  He had been given a packet of sandwiches on the ward, but that was all!
 
Once home he was ensconced on the sofa  watching a movie.  He was very washed out, but hungry.  After eating, he went straight back to chill on the sofa.
 
I looked up at the magnificent Jenner’s building as I went in search of a bus this afternoon, and of course my thoughts went to the recent tragedy.
 
 
 
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.