Scribbler

By scribbler

Purple: Heart-to-heart

Women in purple chairs conversing at Randall Children's Hospital, Legacy Emanuel.

Day 16 of the challenge is "Purple."


Blipfoto, you are turning me into a brazen hussy!

I'd never been inside the children's hospital but expected it would have some colorful decorations, possibly even purple. Immediately inside the door I saw a row of large comfy bright purple chairs, mostly empty. I began taking shots, praying for the sun to come out from behind the clouds.

Way at the end of the line of chairs were two women having a quietly intense conversation. Their pretty faces and lovely hair would add so much to my blip! Finally I walked up to them and interrupted their talk.

"I can't believe I'm being this brazen," I said, "but I've just started participating in a photography website and today's assignment is Purple. I've been taking pictures of the chairs, but you lovely ladies would add so much to my picture ... if you're willing."

One looked hesitant but the other shrugged and said, "Sure, what do you want us to do?" I said, "Just continue what you were doing." The hesitant one cleared the table of their luncheon detritus and placed it on the floor out of sight, but you can see it in this shot near the chair on the left.

After I'd taken a dozen or so pictures I returned and thanked them. I offered to send them copies if they wanted to give me their email address. Again they exchanged glances but then shrugged and said, "Sure, why not?"

As I left, I thought about the fact that people rarely come to a children's hospital except on a sad errand of some kind. What was the subject of the heart-to-heart I interrupted? I prayed for these women and hoped their day would go well. And I prayed for the children, who are here because each one has earned a Purple Heart: wounded in action.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.