A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Tongue Twister

The ferocious wind and bitter cold temperatures have finally departed!! • Friday night a new US windchill record was set atop Mount Washington in NH: -46F temperature with 127mph wind equaled -108F windchill!! • Can you imagine?!? • While practicing the uke this morning, this red-bellied woodpecker flew in for a snack. I was pleased with my multitasking skills as I got a few shots off. They never stay long, I was lucky! • My naked eye never saw the tongue action either but here it is!! Isn’t it awesome? Their full tongue measures 9.25 inches or 23.5 cm. It wraps around the back of their head and can extend up to 5” beyond their beak. It also protects their brain when they peck at trees, and it’s barbed at the end • In case you’re wondering, he did successfully snag a nut before exiting :) • Peace & Love

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.