Oak branches

I really like bare branches of all trees but especially those of oaks. 
Today is the anniversary of our first date. It's the anniversary we remember and celebrate rather than our wedding anniversary!  I was 16, G was 18 and here we are all those countless years later, still enjoying each other's company. There was a dance after my basketball game, and he asked me to dance. Apparently I was only dancing one dance with any boy who asked me, and G bet his friends that I'd dance more than one with him. He won the bet and then asked if he could walk me home. We went to his locker to get his jacket, we kissed, and as he always says, we were both "trapped" after that first kiss. Little did he know when he made the bet, that he'd be dancing with me for life! The next night we went to a movie. 
When we were walking down Xwaaqw'um today, I asked G if he remembered the movie we saw on that first date. He couldn't remember and I don't either. I suspect that we didn't watch much of it anyway.  ;-) He did remember that he was working at Super Valu that night and didn't finish until 9pm. I picked him up and we went to the 2nd showing. We then tried to remember the last movie we saw before Covid and neither of us could remember that either!
Anyway, it's been a great ride, we've had lots of adventures, and I'm so glad that G asked me to dance that night.  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.