Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

For the Trash

Another in my series “Small Domestic Interiors”
Getting my 2 mile wet walk in today was extra hard so I had to retreat to my chair by the window to alternately snack, read, draw on the ipad, AND make good progress of tossing out old letters from the bag I want to get rid of.    My Mother had 3 sisters so there were far too many letters between them with endless thank yous etc..plus she kept lots of mine to them.     And then there was this newspaper…the Chicago Tribune (for 2 cents) from October 18, 1941 Brits asking the US to go to war with Japan.    (Just a tad early…Pearl Harbor happened on Dec 7)     There is also an article about the possibility of a flu epidemic similar to the one of 1918,,,,I think this didn’t quite happen, but there was optimism that it could be solved with ultra violet lights everywhere!   That box is my Dad’s letters to my Mom before they were married…..I feel like they were just too private to read.   There were many in Swedish from my Dad’s mother…we had some translated at one point..mostly daily recitals and thank yous… There won’t be many of these kinds of pieces of paper for our grandchildren to go thru, unless they print out emails and texts.   
.And there went the afternoon.   Time for a martini treat. 

(don't worry,  I've saved just a few) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.