Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Nature's Sculpture Grows.

Last Friday I blipped an image of a very large puffball complete with its tiny black insects. I converted it to black and white and it looked all the world like a stone sculpture.
I have been monitoring this puffball every time I walk through the vineyard where it is growing. The insects have gone...they went with the first touch of frost. The puffball has continued to grow. Last week it was about the size of a large trussed chicken. It is now the size of a large trussed turkey.
Today I placed my iPhone on the top of the puffball before photographing it....just to give some idea of size.
(The tech-minded among blippers may notice that I have a "Sports Tracker " app on my phone and it is showing that I had walked 3.23 Km. taking 40.51 minutes ...a rather slow pace today...at the time I captured the image. It is an amazing app for the ever so slightly compulsive obsessives . It uses GPS to measure distances and has all sorts of goodies built in...distance walked/run/cycled. Speeds/altitudes,maps...you name it, it is in this app. Great fun..... and free. Sorry for my little diversion)
Getting back to the puffball. I find fungi of all sorts quite fascinating.
We have a Camera Club Field Trip planned for this coming Sunday to a forested valley where fungi galore can be found. It is a treasure trove for keen macro photographers. Alas, the weather forecast is dismal with predicted rain in that area. I am hoping we get to go on this trip and will be up to our eyeballs in fungi, big and small. Fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.