Mad Max meets Grayson Perry

I took Morrigan out for a ride through North Somerset and on the way back I decided to look for Rockaway Park. I'd long heard of it and seen some remarkable pictures. I finally found it up a long muddy lane and up an incredibly steep (and again muddy) ramp into a disused and overgrown quarry pit. I was sure I would drop the bike at some stage...

I'm using this single shot of a car - with roof mounted missile, of course - but you may find a few more pictures on Flickr.

It was more than surreal, because despite the loud rock music issuing from everywhere it seemed there was no-one there... I wandered around rusting fairground rides and beaten up trucks, anarchic signage and the weirdest collection of scrap you can imagine until eventually I bumped into someone else. "Just go where you like", he said. So I did.

I expect at other times it's quite the venue for loud and artistic collaborations and I'm sure to go back. I didn't drop the bike. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.