Carnethy

Body combat. .. solo. N in recovery, feeling ever muscle in his body from yesterday’s class.
We were heading for the beach but brave and energised I suggested we tackle a hill.
Four years ago when training for Ns mountains of Mourne jaunt we were walking the Pentlands every Monday building up to 16 miles with 16 hills. That was what first highlighted when I started to get ill as instead of improving I got slower and slower as the pain in my knees then ankles increased which led to my diagnosis.
I have only tried a few times to see if surgery has helped only to be disappointed but following my last surgery in September there’s a huge improvement. It’s now only when the incline gets too steep roughly 45 degrees, my knees feel trapped in a vice and the walking-in-lead-salopettes sensation returns.
Two hills, Turnhouse and Carnethy with moments of OUCH but otherwise I was fine! Huzzah! What a relief, earned my cuppa at the cafe at the bottom.
Home to celebrate with more gardening another bonfire and 27,000 steps in the bag.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.