Living my dream

By Mima

Another derailment

This was the only photo I took today. Good clouds.

It has been a derailed day thanks to Bean needing to go to the vet with an irritable ear.

The poor thing got up this morning shaking and shaking her head, clearly uncomfortable with something in her right ear. She scratched it so much it started to bleed. I cleaned it and peered inside, but I couldn’t see anything and it didn’t smell horrible.

To be sure it wasn’t a grass seed I decided to book her in. She loves the vets’ which makes it a fun outing: all the fantastic smells and the chance there might be a dog, a cat, a rabbit or a hamster to sniff make it a huge adventure.

The result is that she has a small area of staphylococcus + yeast infection deep in her ear. We caught it very early and the antibiotics and anti-inflammatories should ease the irritation quickly. I think she’s already more relaxed (four hours after the first doses).

So she’s happier. Therefore I’m happy, but more than $200 worse off. It’s just as well I put aside money for dog-related emergencies every week. It is as good as insurance, and I spend it on anything unexpected and Bean-related.

It was another stinking hot day. 30C this afternoon when we were in town. I had shopping to do but couldn’t leave Bean in the car in the heat, so we went to have a cup of tea and a natter with friends as we waited for the clouds to arrive and a southerly breeze to appear.

The temperature dropped 8 degrees in 20 minutes. Heaven.

Tomorrow I’ll get onto all the jobs I had on the to do list for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.