Frosty Web

I was awake at 5.30 this morning and, as soon as I remembered about the return of the moth larvae, I found it impossible to go back to sleep of course! I managed to stay put in bed until just before 6.30, but then I simply had to get up and get on the go, knowing it would be a busy day.

This photo was taken mid morning, when the garden was still covered with frost. The birds were singing their hearts out all round me, and there was much fluttering and activity in the laurel hedge at the back of the garden where the roosting/nesting pouches are located. I’m still very hopeful …

For most of the day I’ve been vacuuming for all I’m worth, and spraying moth killer round the edges of the affected carpets. Unfortunately I forgot to put a face mask on to start with, and it wasn’t until I started wheezing that I remembered I should be wearing one. It certainly helped once my face was covered. I’ve now ordered more moth traps and pheromone decoys to replace the ones I set up last November, which are probably past their best by now. This infestation doesn’t seem to be quite so bad, so hopefully we are slowly reducing the population with our two-pronged approach. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.