Marsh Harrier #21

Our third day out in a row and another excellent day. 
RSPB Burton Mere was our choice of reserve and it proved very successful - 55 species, 4 new ones for my year list and some nice views of two Marsh Harriers from Marsh Covert Hide. 
Whilst up at Burton Point looking for the elusive Green Woodpeckers we were followed across the railway bridge by the robin in extras so I got some bird food out of my pocket and held it out on the palm of my hand, not expecting it to land. Almost immediately it hopped up onto the fence post and then 4 times hopped to my hand to take some food - it was a real thrill and I smiled all the way home :) 
We didn't find the woodpecker (of course we didn't!), but I did see this Rook(extras) in the adjacent field of sheep. It picked up what looked like a stone with it's massive beak and flew off with it. I quite like rooks. Was hoping for a raven and saw another pair of large black corvids, but I think they might just have been crows. I didn't see them fly off and there was no cawing or cronking, so I'm still not sure. My bird apps won't commit from the photos either. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.