Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

February First Day Hike

For the past several years I have been making a first day hike at Dreher Island State Park but this year we had a late Christmas celebration on New Year's Day and I did not go to the park.  Plus it rained the day before.  So today we went to the park so Jerry could walk.   This was tricky as there were roots along the trail!   But he made it a little over a mile.  He took his cane but I think he would have done better with the hiking poles in each hand to balance himself.  There were a few little hills so he was very very careful.  And slow...I could have walked the distance twice for all the time it took us!   But he did it.   

This little island (the lake is about 10 feet below normal!) was the goal but we did not make it that far so I took the photos from the trail at a different location than last year.  

I was really surprised to see a layer of POLLEN on the water in the cove where I stood to take this photo.   A photo in the extras as well as a fisherman (shooting into the sun made for a good B/W) and a photo of the man on the trail.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.