Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Fresh woods

I'm still trying to pretend I'm a visitor to Dunoon, but it's wearing a tad thin already, though that's the conceit behind the title of the blip, with apologies to Milton ... Today seems to have been lived at a gentle but unrelenting trot. Nothing too strenuous, but sort of continuous, from the moment I dragged myself unwillingly from bed ( so comfy ...). First it was making a doctor's appointment; I was fairly amazed to get one, because two out of the three doctors in the practice are off sick - apparently half the town is at the moment - but after enduring the dire music the practice inflicts on the telephone queue I was called back a few hours later and seen in the afternoon. I managed to put a loaf into the bread machine while I hung on ...

I washed the rest of the holiday dirties, which was good, and blew them more or less dry in a howling gale which meant I could only use the old wooden spring pegs (I find they are the strongest). I managed to fit in a walk round the Bishop's Glen with my pal Di and two small King Charles spaniels belonging to her son and his husband (extra); the main blip above is of the tangle of woodland below the former reservoir, where the trees grow and die in a tangle of mossy branches and I thought looked rather lovely this morning - and nothing like the gardens of Madeira!

After lunch I had to stop myself from dozing off like the old lady I fear I am and get down for that precious appointment. I have a strange spot on my arm which became even stranger when I was away and seemed to merit some attention; the locum who saw me took its photo on my phone (it's hard to take a decent photo of your own arm) to send off with its description. I spent ages on the chilly hill home chatting to a neighbour whom we've known since we moved here (ie a long time - almost half a century), but was home in time to put away my now empty case and most of the debris left strewn around it, do some Italian and make dinner. 

Then there was online Compline, a birthday present to organise (this being the month when I had babies), and a final collapse over the penultimate episode of Happy Valley. (If someone publishes a spoiler I may have to kill them ...). Very tense. 

And now it's far too late and I have to be up early. 'Night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.