West Coaster

By WestCoaster

The Winchers Stance

This bronze statue, created by John Clinch is a very detailed and realistic study of two people embracing. The sculpture stands in the concourse of Glasgow's Buchanan Street Bus Station. People often show their emotions in this place after long journeys greeting family or friends or maybe a lover, but similarly this is a place of leaving, many young Scots boarding the night bus to London, a story captured by the Song Writer Roddy Frame in Killermont Street a beautiful song about the hopes and dreams and the sadness of leaving home with the hope of a better life, many never to return.

The couple are ordinary people, like you and I not the stylised icons of the usual memorials and this is its appeal to me, it is beautifully sculpted, beautifully textured and very very tactile and I personally love it although a lot of people dont sadly.

For my non Scottish viewers Winching is probably best described as.. well you can see for yourself, an expression of passion, a special thing lovely to share and remember and anticipate perhaps.

I hope you enjoy their repose as much as I do!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.