West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Trust Respect

This is a sculpture on the banks of the river again; she calls me like a mistress and inexorably I answer her call... the river is a place of solace for me as most of you will have realised and today with heavy grey skies I needed a little time to think.

The sculpture represents the bows of a ship again relating back to the shipbuilding heritage of this place, the stone is representing the wake of the bows as they cut through the water on one the word Truth and on the other the word Respect the message to the young people at James Watt Collage campus where this installation is that placing trust and respecting your fellow man is the way to a better future, I hope this is true and more so I hope the message is sent and received.

I was a scout and venture scout leader for a lot of years and the kids who came with a reputation were often the ones who, when you spent time with them , were the ones who were the most appreciative, most respectful and the most fulfilled by the activities. I still see many of my old boys, and they all remember the simple lessons they learned, saying that they had learned without actually knowing they were being taught and I tell them that is because they didn't need to learn they just needed to find the qualities they already had inside themselves maybe I just handed them the key!

This could only have been in monochrome and I hope you enjoy the shapes and textures of the piece against the foreboding sky

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.