West Coaster

By WestCoaster

The Stables

I went for a skate this morning, interesting session, there are some days you dont feel like leaving your comfort zone but today despite my protestations I was prodded, cajoled or was that bullied into something a little different... never mind I got through the session without any spills and only a dull burn from the lactic acid searing through my thighs!!!

I wearily headed to the car with a couple of shots in mind, as I parked the car and wandered to the park for the anticipated shot this building and its setting caught my eye. This it turns out is a former stables is now the home of the Greenock Art Club, although it is actually in Gourock!!! The club was founded in 1877 and seems to be thriving. I never knew this building was there but set back away from the road and hidden from sight it sits above the stream and this stone bridge. I abandoned my intended shot for an attempt to get something meaningful from this as the setting just seemed so nice, an artists haven perhaps!!!

I saturated the greens and let the rest to monochrome as when I shot it in colour the greens were very in your face. I liked the shapes on the bridge and on the walls behind where the arch is replicated for some reason possibly part of a previous structure. I likes the texture of the tree branches framing the shot from the side and the softness of the burn as it runs down tothe river a short distance away. I am quite pleased with it and hope you enjoy it too

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.