Sailing home.

A second day of ferries for my blip, but this from  on board the Gourock / Dunoon boat which was only a distant prospect in yesterday's shot.

I saw the picture just as I was queuing to get off and managed to grab it before I held everyone else up.

Despite all the difficulties I remain a ferry enthusiast and also one for structures like the Dunoon pier, which has been left only  half restored by the local Council and in danger of further weather damage as a result. 

I like getting the boat and train to Glasgow when I need to be there , providing I can leave the car at Dunoon pier , something that was difficult yesterday given work being done on the bus stances.   The Council is also always threatening to reduce parking which would be utterly counter productive as it would be a  disincentive for those using the ferry to commute to the other side.   

What exists now is an affordable and regular service  particularly as the staff on it are always helpful but the current Cal Mac management need a major shake up whilst CMAL (the asset holding company)  should  be abolished and its functions as far as vessels are concerned passed to the ferry company itself. 

PS  Just noticed that a year ago today I was blipping the same ferry journey.   Serendipity.... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.