Today I did a brave thing...

I climbed a tower. 

A very high one.

And before you start shouting at the telly words like 'wimp' and 'snowflake' please remember I am claustrophobic, acrophobic and suffer from labyrinthitis.

And I have heart failure, a pacemaker, knock knees, and  I am disturbingly clumsy.

And I am a wimp and a snowflake.

The tower, St Laurence's Church in Ludlow is a hundred and thirty five feet high, and there are two hundred steps to the roof.

I get dizzy going upstairs on a bus. 

My main image is taken from a prone position inside the church looking directly up into the bell tower. The ringing chamber is up there, eighty feet above the ground. The bell ringers get paid for ringing, up there, where there are four clover-shaped windows. Money for old rope.

They have to climb a hundred and thirty seven steps to reach their ringing platform. I didn't realise bell ringing was an Olympic sport.

My first extra is a shot of the ringing chamber, where they have a view, eighty feet down to where I took the first image. Makes me feel queasy just thinking about it.

The collage in my second extra shows variously the steps going up inside the tower, the hatch onto the roof looking back down the steps, the lead lined roof and weather vane and a view out to the Titterstone Clee, part of the Clee Hills range.

After twenty minutes up in the gods I came back down, to ground level. I have not been so glad to regain terra firma since I last got off a bus! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.