Candlego...

So yesterday I got busy - I put away the nativity set (plus all the extras), stuck a few bits and pieces on the undecorated Christmas cake and deconstructed the mantlepiece greenery. 

All went well until, removing the nice red candles, I managed to drop one. Much the same happened three years ago except that was before, while decorating, not afterwards but the effect was similar - it broke the wax about one third from the bottom (and today also a third from the top). Who knew they would be so brittle?

Not to be outdone, I cut it through, trimmed off some wax to expose the wick and stuck the bottom stump in a small candlestick, where it has burned merrily all through teatime. It had been going some time before I noticed some printing at the base - the other one doesn't have any such mark, what could it mean?  I may have burned off a manufacturing code or something but I've never seen this before.

Not to worry, it's all gone now and there's still the top third and the middle third available for another time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.