isbiJG

By isbiJG

A blast from the past

We’re in the city again for a couple days. After visiting an old friend, I had a bit of time to kill so dropped in at my school sporting grounds at Northbridge.
I never reached any great sporting heights but I was a half decent cricketer. This is where it started (Northbridge B), C ground to the right and A ground behind me. I hadn’t stood on this spot for over 50 years!
People love to say they find the game boring and expect me to come out fighting and defend it to the death. I just inwardly chuckle and reflect on the lifelong pleasure I have derived from the game, not only playing until was 50yo but coaching, umpiring, watching and generally discussing the finer points with other devotees.
Our son Graham’s team was a couple of players short a few months ago and they asked if I’d like to come out of retirement - the body might be weak but the brain is fully functional so it was an easy decision to remain in my comfy chair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.