The Test

Earlier this week I had some disappointing ‘moon shots’ which lead to a discussion on doublers/converters and cropping.
 
Today I did a test to compare the effect of the doubler on the quality of the image, and guess what – cropping won.
 
I set up a subject in the bathroom with the camera about nine metres away in the room opposite, and took a series of shots with and without the doubler, and cropped the ‘without’ to the same size as the shot with the converter – you can judge for yourself the difference.  Both shots were at maximum zoom, and I used the Tamron 150-600.
 
As you can see there was also a marked difference in the colour balance.
 
At a later date I may well repeat the exercise with the Canon 100-400.
 
 
Now to get back to the rugby.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.