Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The reeds at high tide

I woke up so early this morning, and opened the curtains waiting to see the sunrise - which did not arrive. I then realised that my bedside clock was and hour and a half fast! So it was still way too early for sunrise, no wonder it did not arrive! I planned to go photograph a fishing boat in the harbour at high tide, so after breakfast I walked to the little harbour at Brancaster Staithe but it did not make as good a picture as I had imagined. Instead I photographed the reeds in the water using a long exposure of 30 seconds so you get a bit of movement in the reeds. 

We then went to Thornham and walked from the coal barn there to Holme-next-the-sea. Along the way we went into the hides owned by the Norfolk Ornithologists Association at Holme, it only cost £3 and we went into a few hides but did not see anything exciting. I spoke to a few twitchers who had spent the past 5 days along this coast and they were very excited as they were up to a count of 85 species that they had seen so far! There were bearded tits and a gold crest about but I never saw them. Xena was allowed in with us and she is so well behaved, never made a noise or caused a disturbance in any way.

I saw many waders, and in my extras you can see Xena sitting patiently waiting for me while I was photographing some curlews. The reeds are looking lovely at this time of year, so they also went into the extras.

After that we went to the Co-Op to get a few things for lunch which we ate at home. Gavin wanted to watch the rugby but the signal was not good enough and the TV was flickering, so he was going to watch on his iPad but then got distracted changing flights for our summer holiday. British Airways were back to their usual good level of customer service again today. I had a chat to Adam on the phone, he is working ridiculous hours at the moment, did in excess of 80 hours this week. He will finish his PhD around the end of this year and has his sights set on post doctoral research in the USA. 

We are staying home for supper, Gavin is cooking spaghetti bolognaise. It has been years since I ate that and it used to be the one and only thing that Gavin could cook and he perfected it so that he makes the best one! I have run out of energy to go see a possible murmuration sighting....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.