Flossmo

By Flossmo

Tubular Bells

Back blip for yesterday.

It was a long and busy day. I was out soon after nine and drove over to the studio in Guildford. I started out by cutting up an old pair of pyjamas to make some cleaning rags.  It was sort of sad and therapeutic at the same time.

I then spent the day working on a couple of black and white monoprints. First oil-based ink was rolled onto a plastic plate to give a uniform opaque coverage. Then the plate was worked on to remove some of the ink using various implements such as rags, brushes or sticks. The image was then transferred onto damp paper using a press. I made a couple of images that were interesting if not completely satisfactory.

I left the studio a little before four and was pleased to be home by half past. I then had a quick bite to eat and a twenty minute snooze before getting in my car and heading back to Guildford for a concert at G Live.

The concert was a performance of Mike Oldfield's Tubular Bells. There were eight musicians on stage  and the performance was very good. I was fascinated to watch one of the musicians play and electric cello. It was very odd looking but the cellist was very good and the sound was beautifully rich and deep.

I felt a bit deprived, though, because there was no Mike Oldfield present. But then when I thought about it you wouldn't go to hear a Brandenburg Concerto and expect Johann Sebastian to be present would you? The crowd loved it and the players got a standing ovation at the end.

Fortunately, after my earlier traumas of the week, I had taken good notice of where I had parked the car and I was back home in less than half and hour.

So, two concerts in a week. I guess that's how it happens some times and it has whetted my appetite for more live music after the Covid years. I shall spend some time this weekend perusing the local venues' websites.     

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.