Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Outreach

Well, what a day it's been!!

Started off with church in the morning - where because we don't meet on a Sunday, we marked Pentecost! At the service, there was mention of an outreach program currently running to collect (Indian) pickle jars to give to labourers in a certain church. They didn't want members of the congregation to just bring a jar to give away, but they wanted them to be there to distribute them as well. It was happening today - 2:30-4pm, so G and I decided we wanted to go. It beat another visa run!

The outreach was to a Telugu speaking Indian church. Got to the venue - first thing I had forgotten - you have to take your shoes off!! G then said - we would probably have to sit on the floor as well. I had totally forgotten that! Anyway, shoes off, we entered the room to find it was nicely laid out and everyone was there just waiting for the group of 20 or so people to arrive.

As you can see - it's women on the right and men on the left. G and I totally upset things by going and sitting on the men's side! No-one came and sat next to me as they wouldn't dream of mixing like that. All gifts very gratefully received. It was someone's birthday and he celebrated by providing a drink to every member of the congregation (mango juice).

Went for a ride heading out to the desert before coming home for a roast chicken dinner with pink champagne! Got my guitar out and had a little play whilst waiting. I don't want to lose my strumming skills that already are very rusty after not playing since June last year! I need to keep it out of its box so it is more accessible!

Happy weekend everyone...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.