Smashed it

Went with Kt to the Holyrood Parkrun this morning (extra), although I was walking not running. Gorgeous morning for it, with great views. I power walked up the steep hill (once again noticing a positive difference in my breathing) and then as we began the long descent I ran a little then back to walking. Was amazed to find I finished in 42mins and was 3rd in my age group (probably only 3 in that group mind you!). I’d assumed K would be home by the time I’d finished but she was just doing some stretches and starting out home so saw me finish and we walked back together (the hardest bit!).
After showers we had ricotta pancakes for breakfast then drove down to let T&Kt see A&N’s house. Her new sofa had arrived…looking fabulous and very comfy.
Left her to enjoy a sofa day and we drove to Gullane via a toastie/cake stop off at Falko’s in Haddington. The road was across some pretty desolate countryside…very empty and just covered in brown heather which would look lovely when in flower but was a bit bleak today. My apple strudel was as usual delicious, and it was bright when we arrived at Gullane beach. Had a great walk along it, looking for life in the rock pools, skimming stones and scrambling over the big rocks. We found quite a deep cave (extra) which was fun, and explored the different types of rocks (sandstone, multiple layers of shale and something very hard and black), with T trying to sharpen some pieces and generally regressing to his childhood. As we left the sky was just starting to glow pink…but it stayed light til 5.30pm when we got home. So nice to have the longer days
Home and all collapsed for a while, then T, Kt and I walked down to Dishoom for supper. K was too tired and not hungry so decided to slump a bit on the sofa rather than coming out.
Had to wait a while in the bar (delicious Sober Negroni for me) but we used the time to peruse the menu so were ready to order as soon as we got our table. Really enjoyed my choices…Chaat, lamb chops, black dhal and roti, and the others did too (starters in extra).
Home and watched another Ted Lasso episode then bed…10 miles done today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.