Iris Reticulata

We had another beautiful Book of Common Prayer service at church today, which we watched on livestream at home. I’ve got a bit of a croaky voice so I couldn’t join in the hymns, but it was lovely to hear Smithers singing along beside me.

Sunday lunch was roast chicken with the usual trimmings – but my contribution was just the Yorkshire puddings! Smithers had prepared far more roasted vegetables than was necessary for the two of us plus The Traveller; this is because our middle son will be on his own next week while our d-i-l and granddaughters are in Poland, so we are expecting a few visits which will all entail a hot meal, no doubt! In return he has promised to come and help us clear the garage of all the items that are destined for the charity shop or tip. A fair exchange I think.

Once again we were thwarted in our attempt to get out for a walk. We were just getting ready to leave when said son and granddaughters arrived to search for a soft toy which had inadvertently been left behind yesterday, and without which the Poland trip would no doubt be impossible. An hour or two later, as we stood on the front doorstep to wave them off, I spotted these miniature irises in the front garden. "That’s my blip!" I said to Smithers. And it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.