Spring?

No.   Not yet but we're to have a couple of lovely days, hopefully a taste of what's to come.   The flowers in garden, frames and greenhouse come on apace.  Perhaps slowest in the greenhouse which still gets relatively little sun at this time of year.  This keeps the temperature in there down which is no bad thing.  Crocus imperati is usually much earlier in the sunny cold frames but when it flowers early it is more prone to flop.  These are looking great today.

A grey morning saw me get stuck into the packing boxes from the front porch, some of my things, some of Jamie's while he and Tilda tried an adaptive cycling group in Dolgellau.  3 large boxes now reduced to three much smaller boxes plus a bag for charity and this before Jamie gets to decide on his stuff.   I came across a couple of scrapbooks from the early 1970's, one with the receipt for my very first membership subscription to the Talyllyn Railway Preservation Society, dated 31st July 1971 and noting the fee of Fifty New Pence!   Quite a few other interesting finds, I'm hoping my brother Chris can make a digital copy of some vinyl records of the same vintage.

I did spend some time in the greenhouse once the sun arrived, cleaning dead leaves from primulas, watering and taking photos.   A load of laundry dried outside and I am lining up more of the same for the sunny days ahead.  Before sunset Meg and I took a walk above Llanegryn where the churchyard has crocuses, snowdrops and daffodils aplenty.   A nice day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.