Not quite the Sunday evening I expected…

I’d just poured a glass of wine and the Great Pottery Throwdown was getting exciting when the doorbell rang. Two men at the door who asked whether I’d had intermittent power drops. No all was well. They said that the power was down in most of the road including all my neighbors and asked to check my meter. Apparently there are three different circuits and mine is the yellow which was the only one working.
Well luckily my ‘yellow’ meter kept the power going until after 9 o’clock so both The Pottery and Call the Midwife safely recorded. 
Then it nearly all went black. The cooker went off but then flashed as it does when the power is restored. And the TV red light flashed. When the man returned to give update he simply couldn’t understand where the power was coming from to flash the cooker light because my meter showed no power at all!
A couple more periods of power and no power then all was well except t’ internet. Big red light! I was warned that once they’d fixed the problem the power would have to go off again. So I thought I’d probably finish my wine and get to bed.
Then all went dark again. Not even a flashing cooker light. So I went off to bed. The fault was right outside my house so there was enough light coming through the glass front door and my upstairs windows which didn’t have blinds closed.
All was quiet until the team turned up to dig up the road. But I managed to drift off to sleep. I woke again at about 2am and thought their lighting was really lighting up my staircase until it dawned on me that it was the lamp downstairs that had been on when the power went off. As had the TV. So I switched those off and then wondered about a blip. Yes I just managed to capture these 2 guys who don’t really look busy but they have certainly been working hard!
The road is still closed; completely blocked off so I’ve no idea how the bin men managed to empty the food waste and glass bag but they have. Well done! 
So not the best pic today but it has a story to go with it…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.